Sunday, November 29, 2009

Happy Turkey Day!

Sorry about this being Sunday when Thanksgiving was clearly Thursday. My bad. But we were at the beach, which basically means seafood and swimming every day. But my parents wouldn't let me swim because they were worried about my health- I was like, so what if I have a stuffy nose? It's probably just the weird heating system in our hotel.
On top of which, my parents told me that there wasn't an indoor pool in the hotel, so I- shocker- didn't bring my bathing suit. And once we got there, what do you know! Indoor pool!
But the beach was really great, anyways. There was this group of dolphins that would play around about 100 feet away from the sand every day while I was eating breakfast. Did I mention my ambition to be a marine biologist? So the dolphins were awesome.
I also bought the book that I've been waiting for since last year, The Fourth Apprentice by Erin Hunter. Yay! And it's really good.
-Kayla

Saturday, November 21, 2009

Wynter Sora Diaries #4

Dear Diary,
You know how some people say, "Oh gosh I'm so bored."
Well, this is me:
"I'm freaking bored to death, which is weird because I'm getting chased by zombies. Ha ha. I know that I sound kind of insane. I probably am insane. Ha ha ha."
Yeah. Freaky.
But seriously true.
I think that I'm going crazy. Since when is getting chased by highly contagious zombies boring? Oh, yeah. When it became a daily routine. No, that's not funny. Or is it? Like I said, crazy. I'm so crazy! Ha ha ha!
I'm even creeping myself out. That's insane! That's crazy!
Okay. I've been using the word crazy way too much. And before I start repeating everything that I've already said, I better record the top 10 best ways to kill a zombie.

1) rocket launcher
2) SMG
3) frying pan
4) chainsaw
5) shotgun
6) music from the 50's
7) grenade
8) fire
9) bomb
10) speeding bus

Sadly, the only weapons that I've been able to get my hands on are numbers three, five, six, eight, and surprisingly ten. Long story that involves someone leaving their keys in their van and a horde of zombies.
Let me explain the 50's music.
That stuff is just awful. I'm sorry, but it is. If you can manage to find a really old CD or an iPod with the music on it, and then some kind of speaker device and start playing it, the zombies start running away. Seriously. I almost died laughing the first time I tried it.
I don't even know what day it is. Or even the month. I'm pretty sure about the year, but what does it matter? I'm insane. That kind of benefits the smashing with a frying pan.
-Wynter Sora

Sunday, November 15, 2009

Things I hate about Twilight

Sorry for all the anti-Twilight stuff, but Twilight (no surprise) really ticks me off. And here are some reasons why!

  1. Bella does not get eaten.
  2. Bella makes 165 references to Edward's beauty.
  3. Edward's breath apparently smells good- like, what?
  4. Bella's heart literally stops when Edwards kisses her.
  5. Everyone loves the books, even though the ONLY ONE that I like is New Moon because a) it's the only one that has a plot that actually makes sense and b) Edward isn't there to make me barf with his breath.
  6. THE VAMPIRES SPARKLE. That is really, really... creepy. Unnatural. Guaranteed to drive me insane.
  7. Edward can't read Bella's mind. I'd like to see his face when he finds out how many times she refers to him as godlike or thinks about his "perfectness."
  8. Bella loves kissing Edward, even though I can find zero ways that kissing a rock would be at all attractive. Even if i was a very good-looking rock.
  9. When Bella kisses Edward in Breaking Dawn, she literally tastes his lips. Ew.
  10. Bella does not get flattened by a car!
  11. Edward watches Bella sleep every night. OMG stalker!!! :P
  12. Edward has nothing better to do in his immortal life than enroll in high school.
  13. There are sadly more fangirls than Twilight haters.
  14. The books are well written, but the story is just BLEGH.
  15. The plot actually arrives on page 372 out of 498. That's just sad.
The worst ones out of those are numbers 1 and six. Plus number 15 is disturbing.

Saturday, November 14, 2009

Twilight Part One

I've decided to make an anti-Twilight story. Not really a story, but you get the meaning. Anyways, for those of you who don't want to read the book, you don't have too!
P.S. it's really not that bad, I'm just ticked off at the countless Edward fangirls

Bella: I'm so perfect and my life is so tragic because I chose to move from Phoenix to Forks, Washington and PITY ME!!!!
Random guys: hi!
Bella: yuck you guys are nerds!
Random girl who turns out to be named Jessica: those pretty people over there are staring at you
Bella: ooh, they're pretty like me! except for I have to say that I don't think I'm pretty so that readers don't think that I'm all vain and stuck up!
Readers: too late
Bella: ooh, who's that perfect godlike one over there with the bronze hair? *stars in her eyes, daydreams, random crap like that*
Jessica: that's Edward Cullen, he's too pretty to date
Bella: you asked him on a date??? :0
Jessica: NO, I-
Mike: hey aren't I good enough for you Bella? did I mention how beautiful you are yet? did I mention how much I want to marry you?
Bella: wat?
Jessica: grr!
Bella: OK awkward! but i have to shift my attention back to the pretty people! OMG Edward and I are like made for each other because we're both albinos even though I'm not really and I horribly overuse that joke!
Edward: *stares at her*
Bella: GASP!!!
Plot: hmm, is this actually me?
Readers: sorry, but if it is than it's horribly pitiful
Edward's eyes: *are black*
Bella: ooh, his eyes are so perfect MARRY ME EDWARD
Mike: what about me? *sulks*
Eric: what about me? *sulks*

Fast forward to a better (not really) part of the book
Tyler's van: DIE STUPID GIRL!!!! HA HA HA
Edward: oh no my perfect Bella is going to die!!! (leaps over four cars, no this is NOT hinting that he's a vampire)
Bella: yay!
Edward: you say yay when you're about to die???
Bella: you saved me... you saved me... you saved me...
Edward: don't make me regret it. wait what am I talking about? i heart you!
Paramedic dude: she's wacko
Edward: she hit her head, put this neck brace on her
Bella: ew it makes me look like a nerd!
Carlisle: hello Bella!
Bella: GASP you're hot! but not as much as Edward!
Carlisle: there's not reason for you to stay here. go ask Edward how he managed to jump over four cars to save you life even though I have no idea why he bothered. have a good day!
Bella: ooh, Edward, I love you even though you keep telling me that we shouldn't be friends and I'm probably going to end up dying from you sucking my blood!
Logic: wait what?
Plot: I'm going to die from an overdose of pain pills.

Stay tuned for Part Two! Will Bella and Edward fall in love? Will we get lucky and have Edward kill Bella? (spoiler: unfortunately, no.)

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Wynter Sora Diaries #3

Dear Diary,
It's been three weeks and two days since I last wrote. Probably because I've been so busy fighting for my life, trying not to catch the illness which is now all over the city, and then avoiding the zombie-like infected people that are trying to eat my brains. Braaaaiiinns. My only weapon is not exactly my weapon of choice. No, it's not a rocket launcher or a machine gun; it's a frying pan. Yes, I am beating zombies to death with a frying pan.
On a "fun" scale of one to ten, zombies are about -42.
Well then. The illness does not effect animals, so it's not a whole I Am Legend thing. It's kind of more like Left 4 Dead, except for no Boomers or Spitters or Smokers. Plus no crazy Jockeys, because in this world, every zombie tries to leap onto your back.
One good thing is that there are no killer mutant zombie clowns.
What's worse that a clown? A killer mutant. What's worse that a killer mutant? A killer mutant zombie. What's worse that a killer mutant zombie? A killer mutant zombie clown. They're your worst nightmare, the ultimate evil. They're even more demented than regular clowns, which is saying a lot.
Crap! I have to go. I'll try to write soon, but the sun's setting and I seriously don't want to get caught in the middle of the horde.
-Wynter Sora

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Mystery, Secrecy, and Memory

I'm going for the poem thing again. Still not that good.

People forget
Time forgets
The human mind forgets
Your mind is clouded
You can't remember
You fight to know
You fight to feel
But it doesn't come
A fog drifts over your mind
Something akin to despair
But deeper and with a rage
That despair does not bring
You're wondering
Why is this happening?
Why can I not remember?
Time is a selfish thing
It takes from you
It steals from you
Then it forgets
What you want to remember
All that you held close
Is lost in a sea
Of distant memory
The secrets, the lies
The memories and injustices
Are all wiped clear
You wake up
You look around
Your mind is a fresh slate
A clean piece of paper
The whole world is waiting
To reveal its lies
To reveal it all
Mysteries, secrets, and memories
Night is over
Day has begun

Monday, November 2, 2009

Greek Mythology Part Two

Topic: Hestia

Hestia, the goddess of home and hearth, is totally awesome. The only goddess that's more awesome than her is Artemis. But anyways, Hestia was really freaking cool. She was the first and last born of Cronos and Rhea. She was the first to be swallowed by Cronos, so she was the last to be barfed up (BTW, mega ew).
Hestia was one of the maiden goddesses. Poseidon and Apollo both wanted to marry her, but she decided that no way, she wasn't gonna be a wife. So Zeus gave her a high honor instead of having to marry, and that was to be the goddess of (as stated before) the home and hearth.
Cool Fact: in most ancient Greek homes, before they could be accepted as part of the family, children had to walk around the symbol of Hestia in honor of the goddess. Cool.

Topic: Persephone

We all know Persephone as Demeter's daughter, the girl who ate the pomegranate, the one that got stuck in the Underworld, the cause for winter, blah blah blah. I decided to post the story of just what led up to getting stuck in the realm of the dead; it wasn't entirely her fault.
So Persephone was picking flowers with a bunch of other maidens when suddenly Hades appears out of the ground. Okay, I kind of need to explain why the king of the dead is springing up out of the ground like the flower that we all know he's not. So before this happens, Zeus tells Hades that he could marry Persephone without consulting her, so Persephone's completely freaking out and Hades is just like, "Come on, you're my wife, it's time to introduce you to your new kingdom."
As you can imagine, the goddess of springtime is not thrilled to be in the Underworld, even with Hades kindly giving her a tour. Meanwhile, Demeter is all like "Oh no my daughter's been stolen by Hades crap!!!" And Persephone's life is kind of sucking at this point. Let's review: she's called Kore, which means "girl", she's all flowery, and she's the daughter of a NATURE FERTILITY GODDESS. The only nature in the Underworld is, like, a few dead trees here and there.
Persephone got so depressed that she wouldn't sleep and wouldn't eat much of anything. I know that most people think that Hades tricked her into eating the pomegranate seeds, but really it was this annoying dude with an annoying name, Ascalaphus. So when Demeter finally figured out where her daughter was, there was no joyful reunion, nooo, she finds out that her daughter has to spend her life in the Underworld.
Eventually Demeter rescues her, but Persephone had to spend a third of the year in the Underworld. Sucks to be her.

Sunday, November 1, 2009

Lyrics to Disturbia (by Rhianna)

Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum

What's wrong with me?
Why do I feel like this?
I'm going crazy now

No more gas in the rig
Can't even get it started
Nothing heard, nothing said
Can't even speak about it
All my life on my head
Don't want to think about it
Feels like I'm going insane
Yeah

It's a thief in the night
To come and grab you
It can creep up inside you
And consume you
A disease of the mind
It can control you
It's too close for comfort

Throw on your break lights
We're in the city of wonder
Ain't gon play nice
Watch out, you might just go under
Better think twice
Your train of thought will be altered
So if you must faulter be wise
Your mind is in disturbia
It's like the darkness is the light
Disturbia
Am I scaring you tonight
Your mind is in disturbia
Ain't used to what you like
Disturbia
Disturbia

Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum

Faded pictures on the wall
It's like they talkin' to me
Disconnectin' your call
Your phone don't even ring
I gotta get out
Or figure this shit out
It's too close for comfort

It's a thief in the night
To come and grab you
It can creep up inside you
And consume you
A disease of the mind
It can control you
I feel like a monster

Throw on your break lights
We're in the city of wonder
Ain't gonna play nice
Watch out, you might just go under
Better think twice
Your train of thought will be altered
So if you must faulter be wise
Your mind is in disturbia
It's like the darkness is the light
Disturbia
Am I scaring you tonight
Your mind is in disturbia
Ain't used to what you like
Disturbia
Disturbia

Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum Disturbia

Release me from this curse im in,
Try to maintain that I'm struggling
You can't go, go, go
I think I'm going to oh, oh, oh

Throw on your break lights
We're in the city of wonder
Ain't gonna play nice
Watch out, you might just go under
Better think twice
Your train of thought will be altered
So if you must faulter be wise
Your mind is in disturbia
It's like the darkness is the light
Disturbia
Am I scaring you tonight
Your mind is in disturbia
Ain't used to what you like
Disturbia
Disturbia

Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum
Bum bum be-dum bum bum be-dum bum

What a random post...
Sorry, I'm in a bad mood and I was just listening to some dark dark dark music, so I decided to go on YouTube and find the lyrics to one of my favorite songs. Enjoy!