Saturday, September 5, 2009

Twilight

I seriously don't understand the fuss about Twilight. I mean, sure, its well written, but I mean, SPARKLING VAMPIRES WTH.
Bella's just stupid- I mean, marrying a vampire that tries to decide whether he loves you or wants to kill you more? That's a little out there. And Edward can't decide on a personality so I guess he doesn't have one other than 'creepy stalker.' Charlie is completely oblivious to everything, but he's one of my favorite characters just because he's not completely insane.
In my point of view the only people that actually made the book worth reading were Alice and Jasper. Alice can see the future (how cool is that?) and, well, I've always liked the side characters, and I really think that the book should have talked a little more about Jasper. Plus I always wanted to read ahead to see what stupid life-threatening stunt Bella would pull next, and why Edward went along with it.
I was halfway through the book before I actually realized that all the mysterious events were indeed going to come to a point... three books later. And Breaking Dawn made me even more confused. They should have wrapped it all up with Edward and Bella getting married and skipping of into the sunset sparkling, because apparently that's what vampires do. Instead Bella got pregnant with some kind of half-vampire demon thing and Jacob imprinted on her, because of course you can't have a baby without your best friend falling in love with it.
So then the Volturi came. I fail to see a point in the Volturi other than "We need to scare the vampires so we can have an epic battle that's not a battle at all!" Vampire guard? Come again? Sure, they're supposed to be royal and everything, but... seriously. A vampire guard.
And then there are people who fall in love with Edward and Jasper and Emmett and Carlisle, mostly Edward. There are two problems with that, a) they all are in love and married, not to mention WAY too old for a teenager, and b) THEY AREN'T REAL. Its sad how people can willingly fall in love with a fictional character.
-Kayla

2 comments:

  1. Eh, Twilight's good, but its not as good as people are raving about, so i agree with you wholeheartedly on this.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Twilight bugs me... I don't understand why the guys in it are so dreamy - they all have hardly any personality/deep darkness.

    (If you've read The Hunger Games, I LOVE Gale because he's really.. dark). ;)

    ReplyDelete